Perfect Planet

You didn’t know we live on two different planets, did you?  No.  Thought not.

This is not an advertisement.  At least it isn’t a paid advertisement.  Not an advertorial, gladitorial, or any other sort of ‘push’.

It is a recognition of brilliant service.

Which Planet is that?  Planet Kids, of course.

Now those of you who aren’t in the Comox Valley… well… you miss out.  Your bad.  Two stores, both here.  Wonderful stores.  Exciting stores.  Kids stores that kids feel welcome in.  Aladdin’s caverns of childish wonder.  Well.  OK, it is a store  A toy store.  But why the whole blog post?

Well – apart from the wonderful toys – Planet Kids also has:  teacher resources, teacher tools, French teaching resources, Special Needs equipment and information/books, hands on stuff, imaginative stuff, science stuff (and how), dress-up stuff, and some mighty wonderful staff.  Plus the divine Ms. Pam, owner/operator/Pied Piper of Comox.

There have been several good toy stores in our area – we’re blessed that way – and I miss the ladies at the Avon boutique very much – they were nice and I could pick up a gift for a child there and know the odds were such that it would be unique.

But then there is the store that carries great goods, inflated prices, and glare sternly at you, whilst delivering a lecture, that “their toilet is not for the children to use”.  As a mother to children with special needs – children that haven’t always been good at timing their bathroom breaks – this always irked me.  I was a regular enough customer that they remembered my name but I still got the “we’d rather you didn’t” talk about the toilet for the kids.

In contrast, Ms. Pam not only says “Yes” she or one of her staff will often accompany the kid, standing nearby for reassurance, while the parents are busy.  How cool is she?  I mean, really, she understands not just kids but parents, too.

Anywhoodle, I love our Planet Kids.  My kids love our Planet Kids.  Planet Kids loves our community and always volunteers/helps wherever and whenever possible.  Long live Planet Kids and Ms. Pam (and her gorgeous family)!!

(no, no, truly, it is okay Ms. Pam, no, don’t send me a little something, truly, I accept nothing on this blog, no, no-one will think you paid me, no, no, no, this was from my heart, not my wallet).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment