NIDES-the-Wonderful

For the last two or so months, NIDES (North Island Distance Education School – Mr.D. attends one day/week e-class), has provided class time for musical theatre!  How often does that get included, eh?  We’re already talking of a class that is normally less than 20 kids in K/1 combined, with two teachers.  We are so lucky to have NIDES.

The kids have had the opportunity to work with two different local teachers for musical theatre:  Tamara, from Gemini Dance; and Joey Clarkson from Joey Clarkson!

We were not sure how Mr.D. would go with this.  As a smaller child, he loved music, singing, playing music, dancing but seemed lately to be suffering from “big boy crisis” – y’know, “I can’t do that.  Big boys don’t do that.  Big boys can’t be seen to be doing that”.

Much as I want to say hey, knock it off, we’ve decided to let him work this one out on his own.  Luckily, all the signs show that he is coming through that stage unscathed because he loved Tamara and the Pirate Song they all learnt.

He was a little hesitant about Joey – probably the lack of pirates – but after two weeks Mr.D. was loving it.  This time (unlike the pirates) we managed to make the Finale!  What a performance!

In fact, Mr. D. enjoyed it so much, he begged for more.  So when Joey announced a Pro D day (pupil free day) workshop for kids from 5 up, we asked and yes, indeed, he wanted to go.  Joey also said Ms.E. could go, even though only 4, because Joey herself was homeschooled and she knew that one or two 4 year olds are controllable!

Now you may be wondering why I am posting this stuff here.  My personal philosophy – luckily, I think it is my husband’s as well – is that “the y’Artz” as they are called in Australia – are just as important as reading and writing.  Sometimes I think they are more so.

My son has a passion and gift for science.  In thirty years, will he be using bunsen burners and test tubes or will robotics and computing be involved in ways we can’t yet imagine.  I am a devotee of Sir Ken Robinson who’s mantra is that we cannot kill our kids’ creativity when we don’t know what the future holds.

We have, whether we realise it or not, moved out of the Industrial Revolution!  Where are we now and where will we be in twenty or fifty years?  I do not know but I do know I want my kids to “think outside the box”.  Shesh, think outside the box?  No.  I want them to think in spirals inside bento boxes, quadrilaterals in columns, I want them to think in purple and black and lime green.

And really importantly?  I want them to think because they enjoy thinking.  Not to earn a living (only).  Not to meet some standard.  For fun.  For lifelong funConsider me weird that way. 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

